• June 20, 2019

The thirty seven requisites of enlightenment or bodhipakkhiya dhamma in the Pali language and bodhipaksa dharma in the Sanskrit language. being one of the connotations of bodhipakkhiya-dhamma, as given in Chapter I. the thirty-seven Bodhipakkhiya-dhammas, the requisites of enlightenment. bodhipakkhiya-dhammā. The 37 ‘things pertaining to enlightenment’, or ‘ requisites of enlightenment’ comprise the entire doctrines of the Buddha. They are.

Author: Mikami Makasa
Country: Liberia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Art
Published (Last): 1 August 2016
Pages: 482
PDF File Size: 13.58 Mb
ePub File Size: 17.67 Mb
ISBN: 780-1-14944-525-9
Downloads: 36073
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Muramar

From the Mahāparinibbāna sutta (DN 16):

With proper development and progress, right concentration will lead to deep meditative absorption states, or Jhana, and attainment of insight and wisdom. Dnamma requisite of concentration appears four times as concentration in the five spiritual faculties and powers; as concentration in the seven factors of enlightenment; and as the right concentration in the Noble Eightfold Path.

The Noble Eightfold Path: Striving by restraint Striving by abandonment Striving by development Striving by protection. Mindfulness becomes a power when one is bodhipakkyiya to develop mindfulness by contemplating on the body, feelings, mind and the mind objects.

Table 1 below identifies the five qualities spanning multiple bodhipakkhiya-dhamma sets. In the Satipatthana suttabefore describing the four foundations of mindfulness and their practical aspects and referring to the benefits of practising them, Buddha stated that: Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Views Read Edit View history.

How it relates to other concepts etc. Right action has three aspects: Note that, whereas the Visuddhimagga orders the five redundant qualities listed in the table in order of ascending frequency among the seven sets that is, from faith which appears twice among the seven sets to dhamma which appears nine timesthe table below orders them in a manner consistent with the Five Faculties and Five Powers from faith to understanding to facilitate reader comprehension as there is potentially a developmental facet to this classical ordering.


There has to be a balance between faith and wisdom as well as between effort and concentration in order to facilitate spiritual progress.

The noble eightfold path is of two kinds: Seven factors of enlightenment: According to Buddhist teachings, the final goal is the attainment of Nibbana that has been described as a supramundane state dhzmma the highest bliss and eternal happiness devoid of the sufferings of birth, boduipakkhiya, old age, death, grief, lamentation and despair.

Close consideration of the series would show that the seven sets are ranked in a numerically ascending order, from four to eight, which means that their arrangement is purely pedagogic and implies nothing about a later set being more advanced than the earlier sets Those who have undertaken the four bases for spiritual power have undertaken the noble path leading to the destruction of suffering.

A corpse SN Five qualities mentioned 28 times across seven sets of qualities conducive to Enlightenment based on Vism. By giving attention to the appropriate basis SN As can be seen, the five spiritual faculties and the five spiritual powers are very similar in number and terminology.

Bodhipakkhiya-dhamma | Religion-wiki | FANDOM powered by Wikia

Examples of this are as follows: In the Pasadika sutta of the Digha nikayaas a means of avoiding any disagreement or dispute about the teaching and referring to these 37 requisites, Buddha advised the disciples:. A mind with greed or without greed; A mind with anger or without anger; A dhamm with delusion or without delusion; A lazy mind; A distracted mind; A developed or undeveloped mind; An inferior or superior mind; A concentrated or un-concentrated mind; and A mind free from defilements or not free from bodhupakkhiya.


The faculty of conviction The faculty of persistence The faculty of mindfulness The faculty of concentration The faculty of discernment. In concentration meditation samatha bhavanathe main objective is to develop tranquillity and deep states of concentration Jha na by focusing attention exclusively on one of bodhipakkniya meditation objects.

Here, the wholesome mental states are the seven factors of enlightenment. They are the four foundations of mindfulness, the four right efforts, the four constituents of psychic power, the five faculties, the five powers, the seven factors of enlightenment, and the Noble Eightfold Path. These seven sets of qualities are dhammq by both Theravadan and Mahayanan Buddhists as complementary facets of the Buddhist Path to Enlightenment.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply Enter your comment here Right view is of two types: The thirty seven requisites of enlightenment or bodhipakkhiya dhamma in the Pali language and bodhipaksa dharma in the Sanskrit language are the requisites or qualities dhamma bodhiakkhiya pakkhiya to awakening or enlightenment bodhi in Buddhism.

There are three stages of effort required to accomplish a particular task from beginning to completion: When developed properly, the other seven factors of the path from right view to right mindfulness become supportive and requisite conditions for the development of right concentration.